The Colour Purple.

wow.

I have just finished watching a film with my mum called the colour purple it was the saddest film ever I can’t even explain it. Its an old film -but its not that old!! It was Directed by Steven Spielberg. It has huge actresses like Whoopi Goldberg, Oprah Winfrey and Margaret Avery. And its basically about the life and trials of a young African American woman. Its set during the early 1900s, it had strong themes including poverty, racism, and sexism. Celie (the main character played by Whoopi) is trailed and tested as she finds her self-worth through the help of two strong female companions. If you end up watching this which I advise you do be careful because I flooded my bedroom with tears or sorrow and joy doing so.

After watching this film it had opened up my eyes to the harsh reality of what the world really was like back then. And I’m slowly comping to terms with the fact everything that happened in that movie is probably happening right now due to human trafficking and slavery.

My eyes are so sore swollen and red I don’t think I’m going to go out tomorrow. I feel like as I watched the film I was growing with the characters and I now feel like a new person with a different view on the world.

One thought on “The Colour Purple.

Make sure to leave a comment and I promise a reply

